Nothing goes to waste!

I have become quite conscious of trying to use up whatever ingredients I have left in the fridge to avoid throwing out perfectly good produce! I usually get a little overly enthusiastic when I do my weekly Sunday evening grocery shop and plan to make all these amazing different things. The truth is, that life happens and I don’t always get home in time to prepare what I had intended. Or I realise I don’t have a key ingredient and so the planned dish gets a review or put on hold for another day. And so as the week goes on, my veggies which had so much promise, start to look like their short lives are soon to be over

Last night was a great example. A week ago, I made a haloumi and crispy quinoa salad, which was amazing, but I had half a block of haloumi cheese to spare (I love haloumi!). I had also bought a punnet of fresh juicy figs at the beginning of the week which I wasn’t getting through. I had a variety of greens in my fridge and some lavender honey which I am obsessed with, which was calling out to me. So I decided to put this altogether into a deliciously light salad.

IMG_0843.JPG

I am also trying to perfect a salmon dish before my next “Australian flavours” dinner in a few weeks time. I had what I needed in my pantry so it was the perfect opportunity to give it another go.

IMG_0831.JPG

For this full nutritious meal, all I needed to buy was some baby rocket and fresh Tasmanian salmon.

So its 6.20pm. I had the puppy barking excitedly while trying to get all his food out of his “Kong” and then needing to be taken outside… oh the joys of puppy toilet training! I had Little B, needing a nappy change (again?) and waiting with diminishing patience for his dinner, and a tired husband who had just walked in the door to the chaos of me trying to produce a “gourmet meal” before rushing out in half an hours time! To his credit, he took over puppy duty and got Little B cleaned up too.

img_0824

It was definitely an opportunity to practice my multi-tasking skills but in the end, Little B got his dinner early enough and played beautifully by himself while Daddy R and I sat down to our more adult version of the meal.

I knew my mad rush attempt at a gourmet “use what we have” dinner was worth it when Daddy R said “this is the best meal I’ve had a ages”, and my fridge was emptier with nothing going to waste!

img_0830

Moral of the story… its not hard to make something delicious with what you’ve already got lying in your fridge in pantry.

Here is the recipe for the salad
haloumi-and-honey-grilled-fig-salad-with-fresh-greens

One thought on “Nothing goes to waste!

Leave a Reply

